Community college in its humble beginnings is located adjacent Asare oppong school complex at Anaji, Takoradi, along the main Anaji-Kwesimintim highway. It was found by Mr Isaac Oppong, a native of Awudua in the Western Region of Ghana. Its founding directors are Mr Isaac Oppong and Mrs Noami Baah Oppong.

On 27th February, 2009, the college was registered by the registrar of companies and incorporated under the Companies Code, 1963(Act 179). The Certificate to commence Business was issued on 11th March,2009.

The authorization for officers of the newly founded college to establish the necessary

Structures for the take-off of the college as a tertiary institution was given by the National Accreditation Board (NAB) on 1st September,2009.

Initial work was done by Dr Walter Affo of the University of Ghana and Mr Mohammed Ayyub Morgan. Professor Francis K. Amedahe then took over as President and spearheaded and fast-tracked the processes together with Council Chairman, Professor J.S.K. Ayim, and Mr M.A Morgan, the Registrar.

The College Council was inaugurated on the 24th February, 2011. Council members were sworn in by his Lordship Justice Kofi Akrowiah, Justice of the High Court of Sekendi. Its membership consist of persons of diverse backgrounds such as academia, education, health, industry, traditional authority, as well as representation from the college, drawn from management, faculty and students. The Council had its maiden meeting on 24th February,2011.

The college gained affiliation with its mentor institution, the University of Cape Coast(UCC) ON 22nd December,2011, after which the NAB granted accreditation to the college and its programmes on 3rd April,2012. Effective date for the accreditation was 1st January,2012.

Since its inception, the college has had the following as its presidents:

1. Professor. F.K. Amedahe (2010-2012)

2. Mr M.A Morgan(acting) (2012-2013)

3. Mr J.Y. Appiah (2013- Date)

Its Registrars have been:

1. Mr M.A Morgan (210-2014)

2. Mr George Cobbold (acting) (2014-)

The first first interview for lectures were held by panelists from UCC and Communty College on the 16th August,2012, and the following pioneer full-time lectures were appointed effective 1st September,2012.

1. Dr C.B. Duedu, Mathematics Education, and Dean of Faculty of Faculty of Education.

2. Mr J.H. Norgah, Business Administration, and Dean of Faculty of Business Studies.

3. Mr George Cobbold, Educational Psychology, and Academic Planning and Assessment Officer.

4. Mrs Juliana Ofosu Daniels, English Language Education

5. Mrs Sophia Ocansey, Social Studies Education

6. Mr Charles Saah, Computer Studies

Nine part-time lecturers were appointed.

The College admitted its first batch of students and began academic work 15th October,2012, with twelve(12) students. It had its first Matriculation Ceremony on 9th February, 2013 with thirty-three (33) student being matriculated. In attendance were professor J.SK. Ayim, Council Chairman, Professor Joseph Ghartey-Ampiah, representing the Vice-Chancellor of UCC, Capt. Joseph Cudjoe, MCE of Sekondi-Takoardi Metropolitan Assembly, in his own capacity and also representing the Western Regional Minister, Hon. Kobby Okyere Darko, Member of Parliament for Takoradi, and other dignitaries.

A number of activities have been undertaken since the inception of academic work. These include seminars for lecturesand students, student week celebrations, educational outreach programmes through the mass media, community clean-ups, moderation activities organized by the institutional Affiliation office of UCC under the coordination of Mr Justice Boateng, official visit by Professor D.D Kuupole the Vice-Chancellor of UCC, and the other members of the Management of UCC on 19th June ,2015 and visits by the National Accreditation Board.

The College had its first Congregation on 2nd September,2017. Forty-six student were awarded their certificates by the University of Cape Coast. The Occasion was used to outdoor the college Anthem composed by Mr George Cobbold, the Acting Registrar.

Professor Eric Nyarko Sampson, Dean of the Faculty of Education, UCC, and Chairman of the National Teaching Council, representing the Vice Chancellor of UCC, did the conferment of diplomas and degrees. Four students graduated with First Class Honours. Overall best student graduated with First Class Honours. Overall best student prize went to Isaac Asare, B.Sc. Information Technology.


Community college is uniquely placed to produce excellent and dedication human resource for the nation and beyond with the necessary competencies of the comtemporary world of work through customer/client focused.

Through the provision of excellent of teaching and learning ,it extends expertise and facilities and facilities to train professionals for education, industry and commerce by employing modern technologies in this enterprise. The college constantly seeks alternatives ways to meet growing needs and programmes.

The institution continues to expand existing highly qualified faculty and administrative staff, offering a conductive environment that motivates them to position the university to achieving the developmental needs of a changing world. 


Community college is to be an institution of excellence in promoting teaching, learning and service with dedication and persistence in various academic and professional disciplines in Ghana and the world at large.